Rwanda is a sovereign state in Central and East Africa and one of the smallest countries on the African mainland.
Located a few degrees south of the Equator, Rwanda is bordered by Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The capital is Kigali.

Rwanda is in the African Great Lakes region and is highly elevated; its geography is dominated by mountains in the west and savanna to the east, with numerous lakes throughout the country. The climate is temperate to subtropical, with two rainy seasons and two dry seasons each year.

Christianity is the largest religion in the country; the principal language is Kinyarwanda, spoken by most Rwandans, with English and French serving as official languages.

Rwanda has a presidential system of government.

The economy is based mostly on subsistence agriculture.
Coffee and tea are the major cash crops for export. Tourism is a fast-growing sector and is now the country's leading foreign exchange earner.
Rwanda is one of only two countries in which mountain gorillas can be visited safely.

Music and dance are an integral part of Rwandan culture, particularly drums and the highly choreographed intore dance.
Traditional arts and crafts are produced throughout the country, including imigongo, a unique cow dung art.